Linkvalidator Initiative

The main goal of this post is to find people who would like to join a linkvalidator initiative and work on it long term. Also to get some tips on how to proceed (I have zero experience with starting or working in an initiative).

What is the initiative about

My initiative idea is to improve the “linkvalidator” system extension.

Wanted - you!

Linkvalidator is an exciting application because it covers a wide range of functionality.

Anyone is welcome - there are several tasks open which require various levels of experience and knowledge from different fields - some with no coding knowledge required!

Specifically, it would be great to get people with experience in:

• usability / UX expert - Your focus is the editing experience and you can help to improve the GUI
  • designer - You can make everything look better, e.g. by creating some nice icons and prettifying the GUI
  • core development - You like to write patches, review and improve core patches
  • Write tests - You have experience with writing tests
  • testing - You can test existing patches
  • core merger - You already have merge access - it would be great to have a dedicated component merger for linkvalidator in the future
  • teach - You like helping people improve their code, write better tests
  • documentation writers - You like writing documentation, can improve existing documentation.
  • conceptual thinker - You like to create concepts (and implement them)
  • “in the field” expert - You test linkvalidator on real sites and try to find bugs
  • Marketing / communications / PR - You find ways to get more people on board to help

Main goals

• Most of all - linkvalidator should be useful for finding and fixing broken links, this includes user experience (including ease of use), stability and no (or only a few) bugs.

Possible tasks

• fix bugs (e.g. scheduler task runs without dying, no more falsely reported broken links, check more fields etc.)